Weather News

Tropical cyclone names this season

Ben Domensino, Friday October 18, 2019 - 14:18 AEDT

Australia's 2019/20 tropical cyclone season officially starts in two weeks. So, what will this season's cyclones be called?

The Bureau of Meteorology maintains a list of names, which it assigns to tropical cyclones that form in Australia's area of responsibility. This list is arranged alphabetically and alternates between male and female. Last season's final tropical cyclone was Ann, so the first cyclone to form in the upcoming 2019/20 season will be....Blake.

Image: Tropical Cyclone Yasi off the Queensland coast in February 2011. Source: NASA/Aqua 

On average, we usually see about 11 tropical cyclones form in the Australian region each season, which runs from November to April. However, it's woth noting that tropical cyclones can also form in the Australian region outside these months.

Here are the names that will be given to the next 11 tropical cyclones that develop in Australia's area of responsibility:












Anyone can request to have their name added to Australia's tropical cyclone naming list. However, the request has to be submitted to the Bureau of Meteorology in writing and if it does get accepted, it'll take more than a decade before it's used.

- Weatherzone

© Weatherzone 2019

Site search

Enter a postcode or town name for local weather, or text to search the site. » advanced search

Intense hot, dry, dusty winds to cut across SA

18:59 AEDT Wednesday has potential to be one of the worst fire weather days South Australia has experienced in a few years with Fire Danger expected to reach Catastrophic in several districts.

Help with Farmonline Weather